Ann Bleed 2008 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award Winner



ANN BLEED

Ann Bleed received the 2008 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award. The Kremer Award was established in 1985 to recognize Nebraskans who have made a substantive contribution to the conservation and protection of Nebraska's groundwater.

Selection Committee member and past Kremer honoree, Jim Goeke said "Ann Bleed has always been devoted to doing what was right for the water resources and citizens of Nebraska. Her devotion, dedication, and empathy were evident with her creation of the Atlas of the Sand Hills. She has worked tirelessly for the best interests of Nebraska while at the Department of Natural Resources and richly deserves recognition for her efforts and contributions."

Bleed began her career as an assistant professor doing research at the University of Nebraska Water Center, the Conservation and Survey Division, and teaching courses in natural resources policy and integrated resources management in the School of Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In 1988, she moved to state government and became the State Hydrologist with the Department of Water Resources. When the Department of Water Resources merged with the Natural Resources Commission to create the Department of Natural Resources in 2000, Bleed became the Deputy Director. She was appointed as Acting Director of the department in 2005 and as Director in 2007. Among other duties, she was a member of the negotiating teams that successfully developed settlements to the interstate lawsuits before the U.S. Supreme Court on both the North Platte River and the Republican River. In addition, Bleed has served on and was the State Representative to the Missouri River Basin Association, State Environmental Trust Board, Blue River Compact, Republican River Compact, and the development and implementation of the Platte River Recovery and Implementation Program Governance Committee. Bleed is now a Senior Program Manager at CDR Associates, which specializes in providing collaborative decision resources, particularly in the area of water and natural resources.

The Kremer Award is chosen by a selection committee appointed by The Groundwater Foundation Board of Directors. Selection committee members include: Jim Goeke, University of Nebraska Conservation and Survey Division; Jane Griffin, President of The Groundwater Foundation; Don Kraus, Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District; Bob Kuzelka, University of Nebraska Environmental Studies; and Susan Seacrest, Founder and Former President of The Groundwater Foundation.

Bleed was presented with the Kremer Award at the Nebraska Water Resources/Nebraska State Irrigation Association Conference held November 23-25, 2008, at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Kearney, Nebraska.