Ed Schrock 2006 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award Winner

State Senator Ed Schrock has been selected to receive The Groundwater Foundation's 2006 Maurice Kremer Groundwater Achievement Award. The Kremer Award was established in 1985 to recognize Nebraskans who have made a substantive contribution to the conservation and protection of Nebraska's groundwater.

Senator Schrock has been a member of Nebraska's Unicameral for 14 years. During that time, he served for 10 years on the legislature's Natural Resources Committee—8 years as the committee chair. Groundwater Foundation President Susan Seacrest stated Senator Schrock was a clear and popular choice given his many years of distinguished service to Nebraska and its water resources. "Senator Schrock's leadership, integrity, and common sense during his tenure as chairman of the legislature's Natural Resource Committee served the people of Nebraska and our groundwater resources well."

In 2002, Senator Schrock carried the legislative bill that created the Nebraska Water Policy Task Force. The Task Force created LB962 which passed in 2004. LB962 is widely credited with helping Nebraska jointly manage ground and surface water in ways that benefit both over the long term. In 2006, Senator Schrock won financial support from the legislature to assist with the law's implementation.

In addition, to his legislative leadership, Senator Schrock serves on the University of Nebraska's Water Resources Advisory Panel and was on of the founders of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association. He is also a member of the South Central Irrigation Association, Nebraska Cattlemen's Association, Nebraska Soybean Growers Association, Nebraska Wheat Growers and the Nebraska Farm Bureau.

Senator Schrock was presented with the Kremer Award at the joint convention of the Nebraska Water Resources Association and the Nebraska State Irrigation Association banquet at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, November 20, 2006, at the Sandhills Convention Center in North Platte, Nebraska.

The Kremer Award is chosen by a selection committee appointed by The Groundwater Foundation Board of Directors. The 2006 committee consisted of Don Kraus, Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District, Jim Goeke, University of Nebraska Conservation and Survey Division, Bob Kuzelka, University of Nebraska Environmental Studies, and Susan Seacrest, The Groundwater Foundation.